PHASE 4 - PROGRAMMING OUTLINE 10/7/19 - 11/10/19

 

Phase 4 is here! We are officially entering our In Competition training with the CrossFit Open starting up this week. Each week, for 5 weeks, we will be competing every Sunday. We don’t know exactly what the workout is, but we do know when it is. With that in mind we are looking to make sure to maintain our fitness levels while preparing ourselves to compete each week. We want to make sure we stay our strongest, keep our gymnastics skills sharp and ready, be ready to move quickly and powerfully, AND be able to do it over long durations. And yet, we do not want to be tired or overly fatigued when Sunday comes around.

So… we will have a generally well rounded program with each day of the week focusing on a specific adaptation. The idea will be that we will work on things that take longer to recover from in the beginning of the week and things that are easier to recover from closer to Sunday.

  • MONDAY — Max Strength Day - Back Squat

  • TUESDAY — Gymnastics Day - Chest to Bar Pull Ups/Handstand Push Ups

  • WEDNESDAY - Power Day - Snatch/Clean & Jerk

  • THURSDAY - Aerobic Day - Intervals/Longer Duration

  • FRIDAY - Max Strength Day - Front Squat

  • SATURDAY - Gymnastics Day - Handstand Push Ups/Chest to Bar Pull Ups

  • SUNDAY - Open WOD

Our Max Strength Days will be on Monday and Friday. In the beginning of the week we will be lifting heavier weights with the Back Squat and on Friday we will be lighter, but more sport specific, with the Front Squat. The distribution of the two days are such that we are able to maintain (and even grow) leg strength. Leg strength is one of the most important physical adaptations we can do work on for just about any sport.

Tuesday and Saturdays will be Gymnastics Days. We will expect most to take Saturday as a rest day, so we will only effectively have one Gymnastics Day for those looking to peak on Sunday. We will focus our efforts on Chest to Bar Pull Ups and Handstand Push Ups because they provide the biggest bang for our buck. Both of these movements provide foundational strength for more advanced gymnastics. Stronger chest to bar pull ups will help with the pulling in both Ring Muscle Ups and Bar Muscle Ups. Stronger HSPU will help with handstand walks as well as the dip portion of muscle ups because of stronger increased pressing strength. And don’t worry Muscle Ups, Pistols, Toes to Bar, and Handstand walking will be frequent elements for our workouts through out the week. Because we are trying to maintain (and even increase) our volume on these movements we have them on Tuesdays to allow for good recovery by Sunday.

Wednesday is our Power Day. We will be alternating between Snatch and Clean & Jerk. I would like to have more Power Days, and actually thought about switching Friday to a Power Day. However, I felt that making sure that on Monday and/or Friday we have the Snatch and/or Clean & Jerk in our conditioning workouts would suffice to keep our power output high.

Thursday is our longer duration Aerobic workouts. Our Gymnastics Days will be utilizing longer duration workouts, but Thursday will be dedicated to this adaptation. It does not take as much to maintain aerobic endurance, so we can get away with only one dedicated day. We also should have enough time to recovery from the lower intensity/high volume of the Aerobic Day.

For those looking to Peak on Sunday for the competition they should NOT attend Saturday. What days during the week you attend should depend on your weaknesses, and how often you have been coming before. You don’t want to suddenly start increasing the days you are training, OR decrease the days you are training if you want to perform well for the whole 5 weeks of the Open. Below I break down the days people should attend based on either 5, 4 or 3 days a week of training and based on either being General Fit, or a need to bias it towards Strength, Gymnastics, Power, or Aerobics.

GENERALLY FIT:

  • 5 DAYS: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Sunday

  • 4 DAYS: Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Sunday

  • 3 DAYS: Tuesday, Friday, Sunday

STRENGTH BIASED:

  • 5 DAYS: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Sunday

  • 4 DAYS: Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Sunday

  • 3 DAYS: Wednesday, Friday, Sunday

GYMNASTICS BIASED (depending on the OPEN WOD announcement Saturday could be an option if really needed):

  • 5 DAYS: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Sunday

  • 4 DAYS: Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, Sunday

  • 3 DAYS: Tuesday, Thursday, Sunday

AEROBIC BIASED:

  • 5 DAYS: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, Sunday

  • 4 DAYS: Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, Sunday

  • 3 DAYS: Tuesday, Thursday, Sunday

SCHEDULE FOR PROGRAM

  • Monday, October 7, 2019 - Max Strength - Back Squat

  • Tuesday, October 8, 2019 - Gymnastics - Chest to Bar

  • Wednesday, October 9, 2019 - Power - Clean & Jerk

  • Thursday, October 10, 2019 - Aerobic - Intervals

  • Friday, October 11, 2019 - Max Strength - Front Squat

  • Saturday, October 12, 2019 - Gymnastics - HSPU

  • Sunday, October 13, 2019 - OPEN WOD 20.1

  • Monday, October 14, 2019 - Max Strength - Back Squat

  • Tuesday, October 15, 2019 - Gymnastics - HSPU

  • Wednesday, October 16, 2019 - Power - Snatch

  • Thursday, October 17, 2019 - Aerobic - Intervals

  • Friday, October 18, 2019 - Max Strength - Front Squat

  • Saturday, October 19, 2019 - Gymnastics - Chest to Bar

  • Sunday, October 20, 2019 - OPEN WOD 20.2

  • Monday, October 21, 2019 - Max Strength - Back Squat

  • Tuesday, October 22, 2019 - Gymnastics - Chest to Bar

  • Wednesday, October 23, 2019 - Power - Clean & Jerk

  • Thursday, October 24, 2019 - Aerobic - Longer Duration

  • Friday, October 25, 2019 - Max Strength - Front Squat

  • Saturday, October 26, 2019 - Gymnastics - HSPU

  • Sunday, October 27, 2019 - OPEN WOD 20.3

  • Monday, October 28, 2019 - Max Strength - Back Squat

  • Tuesday, October 29, 2019 - Gymnastics - HSPU

  • Wednesday, October 30, 2019 - Power - Snatch

  • Thursday, October 31, 2019 - Aerobic - Long Duration

  • Friday, November 1, 2019 - Max Strength - Front Squat

  • Saturday, November 2, 2019 - Gymnastics - Chest to Bar

  • Sunday, November 3, 2019 - OPEN WOD 20.4

  • Monday, November 4, 2019 - Max Strength - Back Squat

  • Tuesday, November 5, 2019 - Gymnastics - Chest to Bar

  • Wednesday, November 6, 2019 - Power - Clean & Jerk

  • Thursday, November 7, 2019 - Aerobic - Intervals

  • Friday, November 8, 2019 - Max Strength - Front Squat

  • Saturday, November 9, 2019 - Gymnastics - HSPU

  • Sunday, November 10, 2019 - OPEN WOD 20.5