PHASE 1 - PROGRAMMING OUTLINE

3/26/18 - 6/17/18

29066213_1906076622738729_8421423663265349632_o.jpg
 
 

Phase 1 is the FIRST Macrocycle of the Annual Plan.  This is the beginning of our long cycle that culminates with the 2019 CrossFit Open.  Phase 1 has a focus on building and developing general strength. We prioritize strength in this earlier phase because strength takes the longest to develop.  We also focus on the fundamentals of good movement patterns that will help us further develop our advanced gymnastics skills later in the year.

The SWODs will consist of 6 barbell movements and 6 gymnastics movements.  The 6 barbell movements will be broken up between three primary and three secondary.  The gymnastics movements will be broken in a similar way. The three primary barbell movements will be coupled with the three secondary gymnastics movements.  And the same will be done for the three primary gymnastics movements.

  • The Primary Barbell Focus will be the three best barbell movements for developing general strength: the back squat, bench press, and deadlift.  

  • The Secondary Barbell Focus will be the front squat, shoulder press, and clean.

  • The Primary Gymnastics Focus will be L-Sits, strict pull ups, and strict dips.  

  • The Secondary Gymnastics Focus will be the toes to bar, dips, and handstands.  

For many of these movements we will be using a lot of tempo work.  An example of tempo work is if we slow the descent of a front squat, add a pause at the bottom, and then came back up.  An example of how this tempo would be written is Tempo Front Squat (6/2/X/X). The first number refers to a 6 second descent.  The second number is the pause at the bottom of the descent, 2 seconds. The third number refers to how long you should take coming back up, X seconds.. So come up fast! The fourth number is how long you should stay at the top of the movement before starting the next rep, X seconds.. So start it up again!  (Please note, with pull ups, the first number still is the descent, the second number is at the bottom of your pull ups, the third number is ascent, and fourth number is how long you have your chin over the bar).

The ‘descent of a movement’ or eccentric contraction of the muscle is actually stronger than the concentric contraction (coming back up in the front squat for example).  This means we can go slower on the way down and increase our time under tension at heavier weights than if we try to go slow on the way up. Increased time under tension has been shown to be great at increasing strength AND increasing tendon and ligament health.  AND when we add isometric holds in particularly difficult positions (like the pause at the bottom of the front squat), we increase our strength in that position!

The structure of the Phase is built on three distinct mesocycles of four weeks each.  The first mesocycle is structured with the peak on week 4. The focus is primarily on building volume and efficiency on the basics of the movements we are focusing on.  The second mesocycle will have a slight decrease in volume beginning in week 2 with intensity steadily building. We will have an expectation that some of the basics have been mastered with the movement focus and we can advanced the progressions so they are a little more difficult.  The third, and final mesocycle will be geared towards testing of the movements on the final week of the Phase.

Those athletes looking to bias the CrossFit experience to work on weaknesses with either barbells, gymnastics, or endurance may find this extra programming for each day on SugarWOD.  During this phase you will find that the barbell work will have a strong focus on the snatch.  Since the snatch is not a primary or a secondary focus this phase of training, the Level 2 programming will be used to help athletes improve this lift.  For the gymnastics work in the Level 2 programming we will be focused on learning skills necessary for ring muscle ups AND for working on the free standing handstand holds.  While the general program has a great deal of handstand work it is primarily aimed towards working on positions for handstand push ups against a wall.  The Level 2 programming will be working on developing the strength and body control necessary for free standing holds.  This will later be used for free standing handstand walks.   

 

MESOCYCLE 1 - WEEK 1

Monday, March 26, 2018 Deadlift/Handstand

Tuesday, March 27, 2018 Front Squat/L-Sit

Wednesday, March 28, 2018 Bench Press/Pistols

Thursday, March 29, 2018 Back Squat/Toes to Bar

Friday, March 30, 2018 Shoulder Press/Pull Ups

Saturday, March 31, 2018 BENCHMARK

MESOCYCLE 1 - WEEK 2

Sunday, April 1, 2018 Deadlift/Handstand

Monday, April 2, 2018 Front Squat/L-Sit

Tuesday, April 3, 2018 Bench Press/Pistols

Wednesday, April 4, 2018 Cleans/Dips

Thursday, April 5, 2018 Back Squat/Toes to Bar

Friday, April 6, 2018 Deadlift/Handstand Hold

Saturday, April 7, 2018 Shoulder Press/Pull Ups

Sunday, April 8, 2018 BENCHMARK

MESOCYCLE 1 - WEEK 3

Monday, April 9, 2018 Bench Press/Pistols

Tuesday, April 10, 2018 Cleans/Dips

Wednesday, April 11, 2018 Back Squat/Toes to Bar

Thursday, April 12, 2018 Deadlift/Handstand

Friday, April 13, 2018 Shoulder Press/Pull Ups

Saturday, April 14, 2018 BENCHMARK

MESOCYCLE 1 - WEEK 4

Sunday, April 15, 2018 Weighted Push Ups/Pistols

Monday, April 16, 2018 Cleans/Dips

Tuesday, April 17, 2018 Back Squat/Toes to Bar

Wednesday, April 18, 2018 Shoulder Press/Pull Ups

Thursday, April 19, 2018 Deadlift/Handstand

Friday, April 20, 2018 Bench Press/Pistols

Saturday, April 21, 2018 Front Squat/L-Sit

Sunday, April 22, 2018 BENCHMARK

MESOCYCLE 2 - WEEK 1

Monday, April 23, 2018 Back Squat/Toes to Bar

Tuesday, April 24, 2018 Shoulder Press/Pull Ups

Wednesday, April 25, 2018 Deadlift/Handstand

Thursday, April 26, 2018 Bench Press/Pistols

Friday, April 27, 2018 Front Squat/L-Sit

Saturday, April 28, 2018 BENCHMARK

MESOCYCLE 2 - WEEK 2

Sunday, April 29, 2018 Back Squat/Toes to Bar

Monday, April 30, 2018 Shoulder Press/Pull Ups

Tuesday, May 1, 2018 Deadlift/Handstand

Wednesday, May 2, 2018 Front Squat/L-Sit

Thursday, May 3, 2018 Bench Press/Pistols

Friday, May 4, 2018 Back Squat/Toes to Bar

Saturday, May 5, 2018 Cleans/Dips

Sunday, May 6, 2018 BENCHMARK

MESOCYCLE 2 - WEEK 3

Monday, May 7, 2018 Deadlift/Handstand

Tuesday, May 8, 2018 Front Squat/L-Sit

Wednesday, May 9, 2018 Bench Press/Pistols

Thursday, May 10, 2018 Back Squat/Toes to Bar

Friday, May 11, 2018 Cleans/Dips

Saturday, May 12, 2018 BENCHMARK

MESOCYCLE 2 - WEEK 4

Sunday, May 13, 2018 Deadlift/Handstand

Monday, May 14, 2018 Front Squat/L-Sit

Tuesday, May 15, 2018 Bench Press/Pistols

Wednesday, May 16, 2018 Cleans/Dips

Thursday, May 17, 2018 Back Squat/Toes to Bar

Friday, May 18, 2018 Deadlift/Handstand

Saturday, May 19, 2018 Shoulder Press/Pull Ups

Sunday, May 20, 2018 BENCHMARK

MESOCYCLE 3 - WEEK 1

Monday, May 21, 2018 Bench Press/Pistols

Tuesday, May 22, 2018 Cleans/Dips

Wednesday, May 23, 2018 Back Squat/Toes to Bar

Thursday, May 24, 2018 Deadlift/Handstand

Friday, May 25, 2018 Shoulder Press/Pull Ups

Saturday, May 26, 2018 BENCHMARK

MESOCYCLE 3 - WEEK 2

Sunday, May 27, 2018 Weighted Push Ups/Pistols

Monday, May 28, 2018 MURPH

Tuesday, May 29, 2018 Back Squat/Toes to Bar

Wednesday, May 30, 2018 Front Squat/L-Sit

Thursday, May 31, 2018 Deadlift/Handstand Hold

Friday, June 1, 2018 Bench Press/Pistols

Saturday, June 2, 2018 Cleans/Dips

Sunday, June 3, 2018 BENCHMARK

MESOCYCLE 3 - WEEK 3

Monday, June 4, 2018 Back Squat/Toes to Bar

Tuesday, June 5, 2018 Shoulder Press/Pull ups

Wednesday, June 6, 2018 Deadlift/Handstand

Thursday, June 7, 2018 Bench Press/Pistols

Friday, June 8, 2018 Front Squat/L-Sit

Saturday, June 9, 2018 CROW HILL OPEN

Sunday, June 10, 2018 CROW HILL OPEN

MESOCYCLE 3 - TEST WEEK

Monday, June 11, 2018 Shoulder Press/Pull ups

Tuesday, June 12, 2018 Deadlift/Handstand

Wednesday, June 13, 2018 Front Squat/L-Sit

Thursday, June 14, 2018 Bench Press/Pistols

Friday, June 15, 2018 Back Squat/Toes to Bar

Saturday, June 16, 2018 Shoulder Press/Pull Ups

Sunday, June 17, 2018 BENCHMARK