Programming Outline - Phase 3 (9/17 - 12/17)

DSC_2348.JPG

Phase 3 is the Third Macrocycle (3 of 5) of the Annual Plan for the General Programming at Crow Hill CrossFit and has a general focus on “speed-strength.”  Phase 3 builds off of the previous Hypertrophy/Strength Phase 1 and the Strength-Speed Phase 2.  The movements focused on for Phase 3 build on the foundations established previously.  Phase 3 will help our athletes apply their strength quickly.  

The primary barbell movements that will be utilized in the SWOD are

  1. Upper Body:  Push Press/Jerk (upper body explosive exercises, builds on bench and shoulder press)

  2. Lower Body: Back Squat (best exercise for leg strength)

  3. Full Body:  Clean/Snatch (full body explosive exercise, builds on strength of deadlift)  

The primary gymnastics movements that will be worked on are the

  1. Pistol (learning new movement)

  2. Strict Handstand Push Ups (building off handstand stability from last phase)

  3. Kipping Muscle Ups (building off kipping pull ups/strict muscle ups from last phase)

The Third Phase will be broken into three four week sections starting September 24th.  The week of September 17 thru September 24th will be a transitional period.  During the transition phase, we will introduce some of the new skills and barbell movements.  This will fully come into effect September 24th.  The first four week section of Phase 3 will be referred to as the BASE.

The purpose of the BASE will be to:  

  1. Learn the basic foundational movements and make prerequisite strength gains for the new gymnastics skills.

  2. Build work capacity and technical proficiency in the barbell movements.   

The next four week section of Phase 3 will be referred to as the PREP.  The purpose will be to:

  1. Used increased work capacity to build strength and virtuosity of the movements.

  2. Work on explosiveness of the new movements (especially snatch, clean, jerk, kipping muscle up).

The final four week section of Phase 3 will be referred to as COMP.  The purpose will be to:

  1. It is assumed that some technical mastery of the movements has been achieved and intensity can be extremely high.

  2. The COMP phase ends with a TEST of the movements learned.

Sunday, September 17, 2017 Hang Clean + Power Jerk

Monday, September 18, 2017 PISTOL

Tuesday, September 19, 2017 Push Press

Wednesday, September 20, 2017 RINGS

Thursday, September 21, 2017 Front Squat

Friday, September 22, 2017 Hang Snatch + Overhead Squat

Saturday, September 23, 2017 CLOSED

Sunday, September 24, 2017 CLOSED

Monday, September 25, 2017 BEHIND NECK PUSH PRESS

Tuesday, September 26, 2017 PISTOL + PULL UPS

Wednesday, September 27, 2017 BACK SQUAT

Thursday, September 28, 2017 CLEAN + P. JERK

Friday, September 29, 2017 RINGS

Saturday, September 30, 2017 BACK SQUAT + BENCHMARK

Sunday, October 1, 2017 BEHIND NECK PUSH PRESS

Monday, October 2, 2017 HANDSTAND PUSH UP + Deadlift

Tuesday, October 3, 2017 BACK SQUAT

Wednesday, October 4, 2017 PISTOL + PULL UPS

Thursday, October 5, 2017 HANG SNATCH + OHS

Friday, October 6, 2017 BEHIND NECK PUSH PRESS

Saturday, October 7, 2017 RINGS

Sunday, October 8, 2017 BENCHMARK

Monday, October 9, 2017 BACK SQUAT

Tuesday, October 10, 2017 HANDSTAND PUSH UP + SNATCH EXTENSION

Wednesday, October 11, 2017 CLEAN + FRONT SQUAT + P. JERK

Thursday, October 12, 2017 BEHIND NECK PUSH PRESS

Friday, October 13, 2017 PISTOL + PULL UPS

Saturday, October 14, 2017 BENCHMARK

Sunday, October 15, 2017 BACK SQUAT

Monday, October 16, 2017 RINGS

Tuesday, October 17, 2017 SNATCH

Wednesday, October 18, 2017 HANDSTAND PUSH UP + DEADLIFT

Thursday, October 19, 2017 BEHIND NECK PUSH PRESS

Friday, October 20, 2017 BACK SQUAT

Saturday, October 21, 2017 PISTOL + PULL UPS

Sunday, October 22, 2017 BENCHMARK

Monday, October 23, 2017 CLEAN + FRONT SQUAT + SPLIT JERK

Tuesday, October 24, 2017 RINGS

Wednesday, October 25, 2017 PUSH PRESS (PAUSE IN DIP)

Thursday, October 26, 2017 BACK SQUAT

Friday, October 27, 2017 HANDSTAND PUSH UP + Snatch Extension

Saturday, October 28, 2017 BENCHMARK

Sunday, October 29, 2017 SNATCH BALANCE + SNATCH

Monday, October 30, 2017 PISTOL + BACK SQUATS

Tuesday, October 31, 2017 PUSH PRESS

Wednesday, November 1, 2017 RINGS

Thursday, November 2, 2017 BACK SQUAT

Friday, November 3, 2017 CLEAN + FRONT SQUAT + SPLIT JERK

Saturday, November 4, 2017 HANDSTAND PUSH UPS + Deadlift

Sunday, November 5, 2017 BENCHMARK

Monday, November 6, 2017 PUSH PRESS

Tuesday, November 7, 2017 PISTOL + PULL UPS

Wednesday, November 8, 2017 BACK SQUAT

Thursday, November 9, 2017 SNATCH BALANCE + SNATCH

Friday, November 10, 2017 RINGS + Front Squat

Saturday, November 11, 2017 BENCHMARK

Sunday, November 12, 2017 PUSH PRESS

Monday, November 13, 2017 HANDSTAND PUSH UPS + Snatch Extension

Tuesday, November 14, 2017 BACK SQUAT

Wednesday, November 15, 2017 PISTOL + PULL UPS

Thursday, November 16, 2017 CLEAN + FRONT SQUAT + SPLIT JERK

Friday, November 17, 2017 PUSH PRESS

Saturday, November 18, 2017 RINGS

Sunday, November 19, 2017 BENCHMARK

Monday, November 20, 2017 BACK SQUAT

Tuesday, November 21, 2017 HANDSTAND PUSH UPS

Wednesday, November 22, 2017 CLEAN AND JERK

Thursday, November 23, 2017 CLOSED

Friday, November 24, 2017 PISTOL + FRONT SQUAT

Saturday, November 25, 2017 BENCHMARK

Sunday, November 26, 2017 BACK SQUAT

Monday, November 27, 2017 MUSCLE UPS

Tuesday, November 28, 2017 SNATCH

Wednesday, November 29, 2017 HANDSTAND PUSH UPS

Thursday, November 30, 2017 POWER JERK (PAUSE IN DIP)

Friday, December 1, 2017 BACK SQUAT

Saturday, December 2, 2017 PISTOLS

Sunday, December 3, 2017 BENCHMARK

Monday, December 4, 2017 CLEAN AND JERK

Tuesday, December 5, 2017 MUSCLE UPS

Wednesday, December 6, 2017 POWER JERK

Thursday, December 7, 2017 BACK SQUAT

Friday, December 8, 2017 HANDSTAND PUSH UPS

Saturday, December 9, 2017 BENCHMARK

Sunday, December 10, 2017 TEST: Snatch

Monday, December 11, 2017 TEST: Pistols

Tuesday, December 12, 2017 TEST: Power Jerk

Wednesday, December 13, 2017 TEST: Muscle Ups

Thursday, December 14, 2017 TEST: Back Squat

Friday, December 15, 2017 TEST: Clean and Jerk

Saturday, December 16, 2017 TEST: Handstand Push Ups

Sunday, December 17, 2017 BENCHMARK

 

Kurt Roderick